Ignis Fatuus

Score title

Ignis Fatuus


Marcos Balter

More about the composer



Program note

Commissioned by the Holland America Music Society as the compulsory piece of its 2008 International Violin Competition, ignis fatuus (translation: foolish light; also known as “will-o’-the-wisp” or feau follet) is an extensive exploration of polyphonic textures for solo violin using Paganini's Caprice No. 6 as a non-literal point of departure.