Jingu Suite

Score title

Jingu Suite


Chen Yi

More about the composer



Program note

The beautiful scenery of Tianjin’s Ning Garden and Haihe River, as well as the lively and colorful folk culture of this Chinese city (also known as Jingu), made such an impression on Chen Yi that she developed four of these scenes into a 12-minute suite for solo cello. Jingu Suite was commissioned by and written for cellist Siwen Wang, a professor at the Tianjin Conservatory where Chen Yi has been a visiting professor since 2012. The scenic movements are titled: 1. The Ning Garden; 2. The Stilt-walking; 3. Dance with Flying Cymbals; and 4. The Haihe River.